Tuesday, April 24, 2012

Let's talk about "R"

Let's start this redneck party off with "R".  R is mid 50's, long hair, never shuts up, knows everything about everything, drinks too much (they pretty much are all going to have this trait listed), rarely pays for anything, rarely tips, doesn't really have a job (though lately has been working for another "reg"), has NO sensor, filter or off button, and I am guessing here, but doesn't get laid pretty much ever.  If you aren't sure why he's not getting any, please go back and reread his attributes above.

He interjects himself into every conversation and he knows something about whatever it is people are talking about.  And example of his knowledge from last ngiht:  R tried to tell me how to run a bar.  I asked if he had managed restaurants?  He said that he hadn't...he's a welder.  And I said, "well then, I have but I guess you do know more than I do don't you now?"  And I walked away.

Most regulars tolerate him, but there are a few that openly dispise him, and I honestly see why.  He just doesn't know when to shut up.  He's like a little kid.  I was talking to a normal customer about something, and R just kept cutting me off, talking over me...telling this guy his opinion.  I have had 2 men in that bar ask, hinestly ask, for advice on women...a female point of view, and R blurts out both times, over me, they need to "jump on that".  And everytimg I tell him to keep it to himself.  "Jump on that" is not how to woo a woman...(in case any readers were doubting my theory that R is not getting busy with anyone....ever, here's a little more food for thought.)

He gets handsy and huggy with non-regualrs, and though harmless, I am waiting for a random group of people he doesn't know to beat the shit out of him.

Is he harmless?  Pretty much.  Just LOUD and very annoying.  If only the TV remote worked on him.....

Been a while

It's been a while, but I think it's time to start writing again.  I have entered a situation where there is more funny than I know what to do with.  So, I decided it's time to write about the fun that is the hillbilly drama that is the bar.  Before I get into the details, you'll need some background.

This bar is basically a "regular's hangout".  Everyone knows everyone.  Everyone knows everyone's business.  And everyone thinks they know it all.  Most drink to beyond intoxication.  Most are alcoholics.  There are a small handful of people that hang out there that understand things like moderation, financial priorities, drunk driving laws....you know...important stuff.  The rest have no regard for anything and are perfectly content drinking themselves into a virtual coma.

Many have bar tabs.  For us bartenders that equals zero tip after hours of drinking and "buying" rounds for others.

There is a LONG list of people who are banned for life.  And the list grows each week.  I have a list of people I hope and pray end up on this list.

I think it's going to be best for me to do this in groups.  So the next few posts will be some background on the "regs" with names changed, of course.